When You Ask Me Where I’m Going Book Review

Summary

Through six sections, including poems and a short story, When You Ask Me Where I’m Going delivers a powerful exploration of young womanhood in an often unfriendly world and tells the story of a young mother fleeing home to raise her daughter.

Review

When You Ask Me Where I’m Going is a beautiful and powerful collection of poems (plus one short story). Perfectly loud and in the best way, and full of emotion and heart, Jasmin Kaur tackles many issues from mental health and violence to immigration and feminism with a unique voice. I read this book as an audiobook, which I would highly recommend, as it is even more impactful to hear the poems read by the author. This book also hit close to home as the short story was set in Surrey, BC, and I live in BC, and it’s always especially interesting to read about the experiences of people in communities near where I live. I am also really excited to read Kaur’s latest work, If I Tell You The Truth, which is a full-length novel continuing the short story from this collection! Overall, this book is a strong, important, and personal collection that deserves to be treasured. I’d highly recommend When You Ask Me Where I’m Going to fans of emotional and incisive poetry.

Info

  • Ages 15 and up
  • Author: Jasmin Kaur
  • 256 pages
  • ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Buy local via IndieBound

Until next time,