Cover Art: 6 of My Favourites and Why

Welcome back to Sidbookreviews! Today I want to talk about cover art! As the saying goes, never judge a book by its cover, but I have never really followed that rule. Some covers are just too pretty to pass up! So today I wanted to share a few of my favourite cover designs and why I love them!

In the process of creating this list, I discovered a few key things that seem to make the best covers to me:

  1. The cover has to fit the vibe of the book
  2. It has to be aesthetically pleasing
  3. it should have vibrant colours that fit the theme of the story

Now, on to the covers!

1. Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Cover artist: Nina Tara

I love the cover of this book because it’s simple, yet fits the theme of the book perfectly. As Murder Most Unladylike is a middle-grade historical cozy murder mystery, I think the black outlines and bright colours of the whole series perfectly fit the classic murder mystery vibe. I love this series and this cover, which is striking and simple, but classic. Read my full review of Murder Most Unladylike here.

2. Off the Record by Camryn Garrett

Cover artist: Erick Davila

Erick Davila is one of my favourite cover artists, and the cover of Off the Record is perfect. I love the bright pink colour, the gorgeous illustration of the main character Josie, and the newspaper background. All of this matches the story, which follows teen journalist Josie as she uncovers the sexual assaults of many women in the film industry, perfectly. Find my full review of Off the Record here.

3. With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

Cover artist: Erick Davila

Another Erick Davila cover, and possibly my favourite cover of all time, is With the Fire on High. Not only is the illustration of the main character Emoni on the front absolutely stunning, but I also adore the colour scheme. To top it off, the fruit pattern around Emoni fits the theme of the book, which is Emoni’s cooking, so well. Read my full review of With the Fire on High here.

4. Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

Cover artist: Moses Lunham

I love the art for this cover so much! It features Ojibwe artist Moses Lunham, the colours are gorgeous, and all the details in the art allude to parts of the story. I won’t say any specifics though, because I don’t want to give anything away. This cover is undeniably amazing, and definitely a new favourite of mine. Find my full review of Firekeeper’s Daughter here.

5. Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

Cover artist: Alex Cabal

This cover definitely meets all my criteria and is certainly a wonderful cover. I love the vibrant colours and the illustration of Felix ties in so well with the self-portraits he paints in the book. Ultimately it is colourful, defiant and joyful, just like Felix Ever After. Read my full review of Felix Ever After here.

6. Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Saffi

Cover artist: photograph by Michael Frost and Tanya Frost

I normally don’t love photograph covers, but this one is so stunning, it won me over. Sana and Rachel appear exactly as I imagined them, and this cover is so colourful and romantic, I can’t help but love it. Find my full review of Tell Me How You Really Feel here.

That’s all my favourites for today, although this is by no means an exhaustive list, as there are so many fantastic covers out there! I hope you enjoyed this list!

Until next time,