Seven Young Adult Books Set in New York City

I don’t know about you, but New York City is one of my all-time favourite settings for books! I’ve always been a city person, and there’s nothing I love more than reading about characters’ adventures in a big city. There are so many great books set in NYC, but I wanted to share a few of my favourites, more specifically my favourite young adult ones!

1. Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

Felix Ever After is an incredible book with complex and loveable characters. Found family, deep friendships, romance, mystery and of course, New York City come together to make a YA book that is sure to give you all the feels. Find my full review of Felix Ever After here.

2. Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City by Kirsten Miller

Kiki Strike is an old favourite of mine, with lots of action, mystery and a crew of highly skilled teenage girls tasked with saving New York City. This series is very unique and never dull. It’s perfect for lovers of mysteries, secrets and excitement. Read my full review of Kiki Strike here.

3. Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

I absolutely adore Elizabeth Acevedo’s books, and her latest novel in verse is no exception. With a split narrative between two sisters in Harlem, New York and the Dominican Republic, this book is a profound exploration of family and grief. Find my full book review of Clap When You Land here.

4. Charming as a Verb by Ben Philippe

Charming as a Verb is a sweet YA romance with lots of New York flair. It also stars two very loveable and unique characters, Corinne and Henri, and captures the stress of college applications, big city dreams and hustles. Read my full review of Charming as a Verb here.

5. The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

For those who love deliciously dark fantasy, The Hazel Wood is a perfect read. Set partially in New York City and partially in the dark fairytale world the Hinterland, this book is bursting with black magic and mystery. Find my full review of The Hazel Wood here.

6. Let Me Hear a Rhyme by Tiffany D. Jackson

Let Me Hear a Rhyme is a brilliant mix of mystery and music set in 90s Brooklyn. I love how fast-paced and unique this book is, and the mystery aspect makes it a page-turner that will keep you guessing. Read my full review of Let Me Hear a Rhyme here.

7. The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Lastly, what is probably one of my all-time favourite books, The Poet X. This book is a powerful, moving and intimate novel in verse that follows teenager Xiomara as she discovers herself and the power of her voice. I can’t recommend this one enough! You can find my full review of The Poet X here.

I hope you enjoyed this list, and maybe even found a book or two to add to your reading list!

Until next time,