Murder Mysteries for Every Kind of Mystery-Lover

Recently I’ve been reading quite a few books from one of my favourite genres: mystery. Murder mystery, to be exact. So, I thought I’d share some murder mysteries for every type of reader, featuring a variety of mystery subgenres!

If you love… contemporaries

For fans of contemporary YA, One of Us is Lying is the perfect choice. It blends the typical high school tensions with a shockingly twisty murder mystery. Filled with secrets and plot-twists, One of Us is Lying is a fast-paced mystery that keeps you guessing until the last second. Read my full review of Karen M. McManus’s One of Us is Lying here.

If you love… historical fiction

For readers who like historical mysteries, Truly, Devious features a legendary cold case from the 1930s and expertly weaves together the past and the present. Told, in three parts, the Truly, Devious mystery is filled with loveable and intriguing characters and a string of murders unfolding in a dual narrative between present-day and 1936. Read my full review here.

If you love… drama

One of my childhood favourites, Three Times Lucky will be adored by readers who love drama. It features a quirky cast of characters that provide all the family drama you’d expect from a small-town murder mystery. Three Times Lucky is a truly fantastic middle grade mystery. Read my full review of Sheila Turnage’s Three Times Lucky here.

If you love… thrillers

If fast-paced action is more your speed, look no further than Caleb Roehrig’s White RabbitWhite Rabbit is a fast and wild ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat. This book combines murder and so much more for a read that hits hard. Read my full review of White Rabbit here.

If you love… cozy mysteries

Last but not least, if you love classic cozy mysteries (think Agatha Christie), Murder Most Unladylike is the series for you. Although this series is also historical fiction, I find that it’s best attribute is the whodunnit style. I cannot recommend this series enough, it is one of my all-time favourites. Read my full review of Murder Most Unladylike here.

I hope you enjoyed this mystery list and found a murder mystery for you!

Until next time,